Wandering in New York

May 26, 2012

The Strand’s tagline is “18 Miles of Books” and having wandered the shelves, I don’t think they were dabbling in hyperbole.

Perhaps it’s because I’ve never gone there with an overabundance of time (and money), but there is something about the Strand that is incredibly overwhelming, and let’s face it, I’m no novice in the face of large book collections. It might just be a case of wanting to go in so many directions at once that I get stuck in one place. I want to check out the fiction, the biographies, the cookbooks, and just wander around to see what gems I’ll happen upon, but I always end up in the same place: the classics.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my classics section. I will never not go to the classics section, but I always plan on looking through other parts of the store and instead spend all my time in that one area. I think I need to plan a trip to the Strand when I have nothing else going on and can spendas much time as I want roaming the entire store. This is my plan. Or my dream, anyway.

Anyway, I (mostly) controlled myself on this trip. I bought The Forsyte Saga, The Age of Innocence, andI, Claudius.

…and a(nother) tote bag.

Before I started wandering though, I applied for a job because really, wouldn’t that be awesome? In case you had to stop and think, the answer is a resounding YES. Hopefully they’ll call me. If they don’t, I’ll probably just go back every week until they realize it would just be easier to hire me.

The other highlight of my New York trip was visiting the Brooklyn Art Library, which houses the Sketchbook Project. It’s really kind of spectacular and if they’re hiring I would definitely want the job. Also, their mascot is an owl. His name is Oliver. I may have bought a Brooklyn Art Library tote bag with Oliver printed on it. Fun fact: I’m a book lady, but I’m also a bag lady.

My apartment search was much less fruitful, so I still have no idea when I’ll be moving. I really don’t like having this much uncertainty, but I guess I’ll just have to roll with the punches. For now I’ll continue doing everything from DC, but classes start in August so I really am running low on time.

Leave a Reply

