Howl’s Moving Castle

May 29, 2012

As tends to happen in my life, my friend and I were talking about something completely unrelated, but this somehow led to a conversation about books and her realizing that I had never read Howl’s Moving Castle. This information was met with shock and horror. Clearly I’d led a deprived childhood (fun fact: when my friend told her sister, the response was “what’s wrong with your friends?”), so the next time we met up I borrowed her copy so I could start reading.

I have no idea how I missed this book during my childhood, but better late than never.

Sophie Hatter is the eldest of three sisters living in Market Chipping in the land of Ingary. While her younger sisters go off to seek their fortunes, Sophie stays behind to tend her father’s hat shop. This seems to be a fairly mundane fate until she incurs the wrath of the Witch of the Waste, sending her on an adventure in which she falls in with the Wizard Howl to tend his traveling castle and befriends a cast of far more interesting characters than the surface of Ingary would suggest.

Howl’s Moving Castle is an action-packed fantasy. I love it now and I would have been obsessed with it as a kid. I still can’t get over the fact that I never knew about it.

7 Responses to “Howl’s Moving Castle”

  1. Heather said

    Oh my gosh, I didn’t even know this was a book. I have only seen the animated movie – which is really good. You should watch it. I m going to look for the book now! Thanks!

    • poindextrix said

      And I didn’t know it was a movie, so we’re both learning something! Thanks for the comment and thanks for reading!

  2. I didn’t know about the book until after I’d seen the film. So apparently I led a very deprived childhood!

  3. Hi, I love this blog it has a warmth to it! A new book is a new life! Thank you for the follow! Good luck with your writing!

  4. So I’m just now catching up on your blog and I’m VERY PLEASED by this post. (But look, I will not sit through that movie again oh god Miyazaki why couldn’t you have just written your own story since you were so clearly not interested in the actual book???)

    • poindextrix said

      I’m glad you’re so pleased. I’d say maybe I could trick you into watching it with me, but I don’t think I’m conniving enough. I guess I’ll just have to watch it alone…

Leave a Reply

