Success!

June 20, 2012

Yesterday was a long day.

I’m talking a wake up at 6, start driving at 7:30, get home at 20 after Midnight kind of day.

My  mother and I drove up to New York to see a few apartments. The first one was a complete bust. The apartment was OK, but the “roommate” situation was less than superb, so we moved on. We were hoping to see one or two more and I’d been told to “call any time,” but I called and left multiple messages with no response.

Before our first “appointment” of the day, we had a bit of time, so we headed to 42nd and 5th — the New York Public Library. If I was allowed, I would totally live there. I will say though, as beautiful as it is, it may have lost some of its functionality. There are some great established exhibits, but at some point I just started looking around going “where are the books?” I found them in the end though. I would have loved to stay longer, but we had to get lunch and head uptown to see the first (disappointing) apartment.

Since my other appointments appeared to have fallen by the wayside, we had some time to kill before we were supposed to see the other apartment and meet my prospective roommate and her dog. We decided to walk around and get a feel for the neighborhood. We sat on a bench in the shade until we were chased away by municipal cleaners, then went in search of a pet store to buy a toy as a peace offering/bribe for my potential canine roomie.

We headed toward Morningside Heights to wander around Columbia’s campus and sat in the shade. I bought 3 bottles of seltzer at a nearby grocery store as I was dying of thirst. Did I mention my seltzer addiction? It’s so ridiculous that I now have a seltzer machine. Yes. I’m awesome.

Anyway, after that we met up with my cousin — she’s in NY for 6 weeks studying Yiddish — for dinner and had a fun little reunion. Then it was back uptown to Harlem to see the apartment.

Much less disappointing. The kitchen and bathroom are small, but my room is a good size. The walls are colorful, and the roommate is nice and chill and I think we’ll get along pretty well. She also used the word “bibliophile,” so I take that as a good sign. Long story short: I put down a deposit and now I won’t be homeless in New York. I could move up as soon as next weekend, which is kind of terrifying because my life is not nearly together enough. So I can stop looking at Craigslist ads for apartments. Success!

2 Responses to “Success!”

  1. Heather said

    Oh wow! Living in New York. That would be so amazing – I lived in Sydney for a while, but I don’t think that was very exciting. New York just seems to be the place to live if you are a creative kind of person (or a bibliophile!!).

    • poindextrix said

      Since I’ve never even gotten to visit Australia I think living in Sydney would be pretty exciting, but I’ll take New York for now. Now I just need to find out the closest library…

Leave a Reply

