Construction — A Photo Essay

July 22, 2012

For reasons too ridiculous to get into, I was back in DC briefly and then my parents drove me back up and got to have a mini-vacation/help me organize my life. Both of their birthdays happened recently, so we got to sort of celebrate that by having family time, good food, and seeing Mary Poppins on Broadway. They left today, but first we went to IKEA to get me a dresser and they, saints that they are, stayed and helped me put it together before hitting the road. I took pictures at different points in the process because I always find it interesting to see how things come together.

The “before” picture. This was my makeshift dresser of boxes. Classy, I know.

 

The frame starting to come together. Much faster than I would have expected.

 

My dad screwing one of the hinges in place.

 

My roommate’s dog, Bowie, wishing she could help, but sadly lacking opposable thumbs.

 

The finished product with the top open.

 

I wish I’d taken more “construction” photos, but I guess I was a bit busy constructing. I’ll remember that for the next time around (though that won’t be for a while, as I’m decidedly out of space for furniture).

I promised you photos of my bookshelves, and though you get a glimpse of them here, I’m not counting these. I have a bit more reorganizing to do, and then I’ll take and post pictures.

I also recently finished The Gargoyle and Daisy Miller, so reviews of those should be around the corner as well. I’m about 2/3 of the way through The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco, so maybe there will be a review of that in the near future as well.

Unfortunately, my IKEA saga is not quite over, but I don’t have the energy or mental fortitude to explain all of that right now, so another time. Possibly tomorrow, when it will all (hopefully) be over.

4 Responses to “Construction — A Photo Essay”

  1. janereads said

    I love Ikea! But I seem to lose days of my life when I go in there. And I always come out with stuff I never knew I needed.

    • poindextrix said

      That’s how they get you! You go in wanting something simple like a chair and come out with a new bedroom set, curtains, various kitchen utensils, and maybe a chair. I posit that there is no possible way to spend under an hour and a half at Ikea. There is just so much to look at!

  2. Mom said

    Saint Mom. It has a nice ring…

Leave a Reply

