I Was Told There’d Be Cake — Review

November 20, 2012

I recently finished I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley. It’s a collection of essays about living and working in New York. Three guesses why it resonated with me…

In all seriousness though, despite the fact that Crosley’s life bears no resemblance to mine beyond the city we live in, I felt like her experiences were mine, like she spoke with my voice. Perhaps she just captures that post-adolescent awkwardness and anxiety so perfectly that any woman of this generation will see herself reflected in these pages. The writing is good, but I doubt that’s it.

Though the stories are very different, I can’t help but draw certain parallels between I Was Told There’d Be Cake and Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. Both are raw and wry and perhaps too-true  (or mostly-true) for some people, but they show the flaws of humanity that make me realize that I’m not the only crazy neurotic person out there, and I appreciate that. Also, they’re hilarious.

I often think we read books when we’re meant to, and that was certainly the case this time around. I think that I still would have enjoyed it if I read it at another point in my life, but right now it’s extremely fitting.

The one thing that bothers me about this book: the title is I was Told There’d Be Cake, yet there are no references to it that I can recall within the text. Maybe that’s the joke?

Either way, this book is definitely worth a read. It’s funny, it’s real, there are ponies. What more could you want (besides cake)?

Leave a Reply

