Review — 11/22/63

December 19, 2012

I have a confession to make…

11/22/63 was my first (and only) King novel. I read On Writing a while ago, but I haven’t read any of his fiction until now. Don’t judge me. I’ve just never been that into horror. I’ve heard great things about The Stand though, so that might be the next one I tackle. Leave it to me to pick the longest books he’s written.

Anyway, I did enjoy 11/22/63. It wasn’t horror, just suspense (though I think that’s a terrible name because, really, don’t all books have an element of suspense to them?), and that’s something I can deal with.

The book has a good flow, but every once in a while it gets a little slow. There were times when I’d put the book aside and get distracted by others for days at a time. Maybe it’s just me and my inability to read one book at a time.

I have to say, I felt like the ending was a bit of a cop-out. Not quite in the “it was all a dream!” sense, but it all tied up quite neatly. And I have lingering questions about the card men. Perhaps I am too nit-picky.

After all, I really did enjoy it. This is the kind of book that you will stay up to read.

I don’t know where this puts me in terms of King’s other work. I think I’d like to read more of his stuff, so maybe I’ll start with some thrillers/suspense and see where that takes me. Any suggestions are certainly welcome.

Leave a Reply

