Review — In Sunlight and In Shadow

March 5, 2013

A While ago I finished In Sunlight and In Shadow by Mark Helprin.

Helprin’s writing is really sweeping and florid and it kind of took me a little while to get into it, but once I found a good rhythm I was hooked. This is only the third book of his I’ve read, but I really need to read more of his stuff because whenever I do I’m completely transported.

This book has received mixed reviews on Goodreads and I can see how some people could feel that these characters were cliched, and maybe they are, but I think that the writing elevates them and makes them spectacular.

I really should have seen the ending coming from a mile away, and even when it was clear that nothing else could possibly happen I was still in denial. I can’t decide if that is a good or bad thing.

So yeah, it’s been a while since I finished this book and I’m still thinking about it, which is usually a good sign. I would like to re-read it at some point, but there are so many other books that I need to read first! I’m reading Born to Run and Quiet: the Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking right now, though I think I’m going to need to find some fiction to throw into the mix as well.

Leave a Reply

