Review – How Did You Get This Number

May 17, 2013

How Did You Get This Number is Sloane Crosley’s second collection of essays. As you may or may not recall, I was quite taken with her first collection, I Was Told There’d Be Cake.

How Did You Get This Number has an amusing title, there’s a bear on the front cover… as you can imagine, my expectations were soaring. And, oh, how they crashed to the ground.

The book has its funny bits and its poignant moments, but mostly it just felt like a lot of self-indulgent prattling (and I say this while fully aware that I write a blog about “how I feel” about books and libraries and the city and whatnot). How Did You Get This Number just wasn’t relatable. That was so much a part of why I loved Crosley’s first collection and this one fell immeasurably short. It wasn’t relatable and it wasn’t funny. A collection of humorous essays should be funny, but this was just trying to be.

I’m getting myself kind of worked up thinking about this book again. I so loved her first collection and this second one was just so underwhelming (also- pet peeve: where’s the question mark?!) Maybe she can redeem herself with another, better collection.

Leave a Reply

