BEA Recap

June 6, 2013

Hello again, fair readers!

If any of you were in New York last week you may have noticed quite a commotion as hordes of people made the pilgrimage from Penn Station to the Javits Center everyday for Book Expo America — the largest publishing event in North America.

I was one of those people.

This was my first BEA and it was quite the experience. Thankfully, I was able to go around with two people, both of them hardened BEA veterans, who were able to show me the ropes. It was also great because we got to know each other’s reading preferences, so if we saw a book that wasn’t quite in our realm, but would be perfect for someone else, we passed it along.

BEA was really fantastic. I made a lot of great connections (I told myself I would pass out as many of my cards as I could and I think I did pretty well with that) both for the blog and in the librarian world.

I saw Neil Gaiman speak and met/got autographs from Billy Collins, Holly Black, David Levithan, and a few other authors. Needless to say, there were a few fangirl moments (point of interest, there’s a book I’m excited about called Fangirl). Even when I wasn’t all in a tizzy about an author, BEA was my first big conference/event experience and it was a lot to take in. It was overstimulating and exhausting and I can’t wait to do it again.

So what does this mean for the blog? I have a ton of ARCs (and grooves on my shoulders from carrying them home) and I’ve signed up for NetGalley, so assuming I keep up with my reading (no promises though. I am in grad school after all) I’ll be posting reviews of books before or shortly after they’re released. That means you can add books to your presumably never-ending TBR lists and piles before they even hit the shelves. Plan your library requests and book budgets accordingly.

I was going to add an inventory of books I got at BEA. I haven’t decided if I still want to do that. It would probably be smart for my own records, but I don’t know if I’ll end up publishing it unless you guys are really interested. I’ve already finished one of the books I got at the Expo, so that review will be up in the near future.

Leave a Reply

