Chocolates for Breakfast — Review

June 10, 2013

I got an ARC of Chocolates for Breakfast by Pamela Moore at BEA. I may have started reading it the night I got it… you know, before BEA was even over. I’ve never been very good at self control.

Anyway…

Pamela Moore originally wrote Chocolates for Breakfast in 1957 (when she was only eighteen) and it was widely read and acclaimed for a number of years before going out of print and slipping from our collective consciousness. Until now. Harper Perennial is reissuing it with a number of extras (like biographical notes that shed some very interesting light on Pamela Moore’s life and writing).

Even without the extras, Chocolates for Breakfast is a great read. A sexually precocious teen with distant parents, splitting her time between Hollywood and New York and the crazy people she hangs out with in each place? You’re hooked, aren’t you? I certainly was.

Given the timing and certain parallels in the biographies of authors and characters, it’s hard not to draw comparisons between Chocolates for Breakfast and The Bell Jar and The Catcher in the Rye. But they’re favorable, I promise.

There are some places, especially in some of the turns of phrase, where Chocolates dates itself, but mostly you can read it and feel like it’s taking place today. And that, friends, is the mark of great writing.

I read Chocolates for Breakfast very quickly — I pretty much couldn’t put it down. And now that I’ve finished it I kind of want to read it again even though I have a ton of other books that I need to read first. So take from that what you will. Bottom line: you should read it. Right now. Or in July, when it actually comes out.

Chocolates for Breakfast by Pamela Moore comes out from Harper Perennial in July and I definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

