The Ocean at the End of the Lane — Review

April 3, 2014

It’s funny, I was so excited for this book to come out (I pre-ordered it and everything), but when I finally had it in my possession I didn’t get around to reading it for a while. Of course once I did, I finished it in something like two sittings.

This book wasn’t necessarily what I was expecting when I sat down to read the latest Gaiman novel, but I did enjoy it quite a lot.

It’s interesting because, being a memory, the story is (in a way) told from a child’s point of view, but combined with a grown-up perspective.

In other circumstances we might look at this child as an untrustworthy narrator, but that doesn’t really work here. You just go with it.

The characters in The Ocean at the End of the Lane are fantastic. The events in the book are formative and yet difficult for the narrator to place firmly in reality and fully remember.

I’d definitely recommend this one. It isn’t totally like Gaiman’s other stuff, but it has his dark streak.

I enjoyed reading it and finished it quite quickly. Maybe pick it up for a long weekend or a short vacation.

Leave a Reply

