Red Rising — Review

April 12, 2014

It took me a while to decide how I felt about Red RisingIt’s a dystopian novel with a teenage protagonist, but Darrow’s life and the way he emerges into his hero role felt like a very different journey than the one taken by characters in other books in the genre.

For quite some time I wasn’t entirely sure where the story was going or if I liked how it was progressing. Ultimately, Red Rising won me over. Everything takes place in a shockingly unjust world. The characters are interesting and the story is engaging. I want to know what happens next.

Fair warning: this is the first book in a trilogy and it only came out in January of this year, which means there will be some waiting involved if you jump into this world now. It’s a great read though, and I, for one, am willing to wait to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

