Cataloguing NYC via PHL

May 19, 2014

If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram or Tumblr (and really, why aren’t you? I’m fantastic on social media. It’s all books and my cat and food. What’s not to like?) then you’ve probably figured out by now that I am employedIn my field! It’s very exciting.

I’m working on a project to sort/catalogue the Gotham Book Mart Collection. The Gotham Book Mart was an awesome independent bookstore in New York that closed around 2007 and the books and records all came to us. Now we’re sorting and cataloguing all the material and while some of it is your run-of-the-mill trade stuff, a huge portion is small press material and rare/limited editions and it’s all so cool and I just get to nerd out all day while working/getting paid.

It’s also kind of funny to me that I moved to Philly, but I’m cataloguing a very New York collection. Go figure.

So yeah, my reading time has been cut down a little bit. But fear not! Reviews shall continue. I have an absurd backlog (that pre-dates my employment. I’m bad at planning. We’ve always known this) of both books to read and books that I need to review. All these things will (probably) happen. I just wanted to give everyone an update on my life and librarian-ness.

If you want to see my pictures of some of the materials, but don’t feel like following me (though I can’t imagine why not) just search the hashtag “gothambookmart” on the various social media platforms and things should pop up.

One Response to “Cataloguing NYC via PHL”

  1. […] live in a perfect world, but I still have a pretty kickass job. As you may recall from my post Cataloguing NYC via PHL from over a year ago (WHAT), I am working with the Gotham Book Mart Collection. There are so many […]

Leave a Reply

