The Dead in their Vaulted Arches — Review

May 20, 2014

Warning: This review contains spoilers because I really just can’t talk about this one without giving stuff away. 

This is the sixth book in Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce series. The previous book, Speaking from Among the Bones ends on quite the cliffhanger, with the revelation that Harriet has been found. Now I, eternal optimist that I am (when it comes to books at least), desperately wanted her to somehow be alive, but the body counts have been fairly high in these books so I really knew better.

In the series Flavia solves mysteries, so intrigue is nothing new, and yet it felt different in this book. Perhaps because it was more personal, but the situations seemed more dangerous. The entire book is on-edge.

I’m not sure how I feel about the ending of this book. It’s also unclear if this is the end of the series (Bradley’s website gives no indication one way or the other). Personally, I would love to read about Flavia’s antics at boarding school. I think it would be a great way to show her development as a character while introducing new obstacles and interests. I can imagine her finding a like-minded friend or two and toeing the line with hilarious results. If the series does not continue though, I think that I am mostly satisfied with the way that this book leaves everything. Nothing feels unresolved.

Leave a Reply

