BEA 2014, Let’s Do This!

May 30, 2014

So remember when I went to Book Expo America last year and ran around like a chicken with its head cut off, only more book crazed? Well, I had every intention of doing that once again this year (maybe slightly less headless-chicken-y, but just as book-crazed). And then I got a job and it turns out you can’t up and go to New York in the middle of the week when you’re gainfully employed.

So my four days of book bliss has been cut down to one. I have my faithful friends looking out for books for me, and after work today I’m driving up to NY. Saturday is Book Con, so it will be crazy, but I will be brave! I will weave through the dazed Book Con-ers and get the books I want and hand out my cards to the publicists I see because I am a BEA veteran! I’m getting a bit dramatic here. Sorry…

Anyway, you can probably tell that I’m super excited. If you’re going to be there and you see me (you know what I look like if you follow me on Instagram — gotta get my shameless plug in there), come say hi! You can also just walk around the Javits Center yelling “Poindextrix!” and if I hear you I will reply… How shall I reply? Polo? Let’s go with “Polo!” as I’m not feeling particularly creative at the moment. [Seriously, if anyone does this, I may love you forever].

More incentive to follow me on Instagram/Twitter (*shameless plug, shameless plug*), I’m going to try to take pictures and tweet things that happen throughout the day, so even if you’re not at BEA, you can pretend you are.

I’ll try to bring you an update after the fact with at least some of the books I’ve snagged. No promises though. I have a hazy memory of being exhausted and footsore and wanting nothing more than to sleep for a week after BEA.

So yeah… BEA! Onward!

One Response to “BEA 2014, Let’s Do This!”

Leave a Reply

