Night Terrors: Sex, Dating, Puberty, and Other Alarming Things — Review

June 30, 2014

I enjoy reading essay collections because they are so often relatable even when the things that take place are way too outrageous/horrific/just plain interesting to ever happen to me.

Sadly, that wasn’t really the case with Ashley Cardiff’s Night Terrors. It had its funny moments, and maybe even a poignant moment or two, but overall, it kind of just felt like self-indulgent rambling to fill in the gaps between the two or three good pieces that had already been published online. And then there were a few things that Cardiff wrote with which I vehemently disagree and kind of just made me frustrated and angry reading. I won’t go into it here, but let’s just say we might disagree on some word usage, among other things.

All of that sounds way harsher than I meant it to, so let me clarify that I didn’t hate this or anything; it was just OK.

I guess “just OK” is just not that impressive when I’m inundated with awesome books on a daily (and nightly) basis. You could read it and skim for the funny bits, but I’m not sure I’d recommend investing any significant amount of time (or money) in it.

Leave a Reply

