Percy Jackson and the Olympians

September 11, 2014

I’ve spent the past few months making my way through Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I usually finished the books in a day or two, but they’re in high demand and so I often had to wait a little bit for each one to become available at the library. The last book in the series was published in 2009, so the fact that there are still holds on all copies in the series speaks to its popularity with readers.

I genuinely enjoyed reading each of these books. They’re fast-paced and the characters are fun. I especially enjoyed the riddles from the Oracle and the representations of the Gods and mythical creatures. I think I’d call these Mythology Lite, but really, Riordan manages to pack a good deal into each book.

By now you know that folk tales and mythology set my heart aflutter, so I hope that these books have sparked a deeper interest in myths in some (or all!) of Riordan’s readers/

I would classify this series as sort of middle grade/ young YA (with the disclaimer that judging age ranges is not at all my forte), which is not typically my thing. Even so, I (as previously stated) really enjoyed it. I could get all nit-picky, but 1) it’s been a while since I’ve read some of them and 2) any criticisms I had were fairly minor. I would recommend the series, especially for kids, but also kind of just across the board if youi’re looking for a fun, quick read with a mythology tie-in. Have at it!

Leave a Reply

