My 2015 Reading Resolutions

January 2, 2015

Well, the New Year is upon us and with it comes every possible promise of personal betterment. I’e never been particularly keen on New Year’s resolutions, perhaps because I fear both commitment and failure, but that’s neither here nor there. The point is: the kind of resolutions I can get enthusiastic about are, unsurprisingly, reading-related.

I was 9 books shy of my 100-book goal for 2014, so I’m shooting for it once again in 2015. Additionally, I want to further diversify my reading. I read a good amount of women writers and writers of color as it is, but I want to make a more conscious effort to do so. I also want to read more in translation, as that is an area in which I am lacking.

For a very brief moment I entertained the idea of echoing my friend Elizabeth’s resolution to not buy any books. Yes. Any. With the idea that it forces one to read the tons of books already in one’s possession. But I’m all about attainable goals and, besides, it runs somewhat counter to my other goals for 2015, so instead I’m just going to try to read more of the books I already own. That’s a compromise, right?

I’m also going to continue tracking my reading and I hope to better organize my bookshelves. Those might not be reading goals, but they’re book related and reading-adjacent, so I’m including them.

So these are my 2015 resolutions. They are resolutions I believe I could keep, and that’s the beauty of it.

Do you have reading resolutions? Regular resolutions? Tell me all about ’em!

 

3 Responses to “My 2015 Reading Resolutions”

  1. Excellent resolutions! ::applause!::

  2. One hundred books is quite the goal! I hope you make it 🙂

    I taken to keeping a spreadsheet in gdocs (oh god, writing that out is worse than I thought) to help me keep track of what I’m reading, along with things like if the author is M/F, writer of color, etc. So far, I read more women authors than I thought, but still woefully coming up short in terms of diversity…

    -Jessika

    • poindextrix said

      I go back and forth with how I think about 100. Sometimes it doesn’t seem like that much, but then I didn’t make it so…
      I’m planning on keeping a gdoc! It’s awesome, embrace it 🙂

Leave a Reply

