China Dolls — Review

March 5, 2015

Lisa See’s China Dolls had been on my list for a while and I finally read it in January when I fortuitously noticed that the ebook was available to read from my library through Overdrive.

It’s taken me a while to write about it simply because I have had trouble deciding how I feel about the book.

I often enjoy historical fiction, and I really enjoyed reading about this time span in the country’s history and its focus on the minority experience during it, but in other ways, the book really didn’t thrill me.

The characters felt flat and the plot felt alternatively dragging and rushed. Everything on paper was set up for me to love this book, but it just wasn’t right for me. Others have loved the book, so maybe I’m the outlier here. If the setting sounds interesting to you, perhaps give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

