Finishing up the Abhorsen series

May 8, 2015

As some of you may recall, I read Garth Nix’s Sabriel, and while I really enjoyed it, I initially decided that I wasn’t going to continue reading the series. And then there was so much buzz about Clariel and the other two books (Lirael  and Abhorsen) were right there at the library and… yeah.

I enjoyed Clariel, but if I’m being honest, not as much as the other books in the series. I liked the concept behind the book and how it took a different direction than the other books, but somehow it didn’t all mesh the way I wanted it to. Some people were disappointed with Clariel  because they found the character to be unlikable in whatever way. I can see how she is not the most likable person, but I think much of it is a fair representation of a certain type of teenager — somewhat selfish and wrapped up in her own interests, but fiercely devoted to her family, despite any disagreements. Clariel reads like a hard-headed teenager for a lot of the book. That doesn’t necessarily make her actions any less infuriating though.

Even though Clariel takes place in the same world, it feels like such a departure from the rest of the series because of the tone and the way the story progresses in a different direction. I certainly would not discourage a fan of the other books from reading this, but they should be prepared for something a bit different.

2 Responses to “Finishing up the Abhorsen series”

  1. mskiliereads said

    I agree! My review of Clariel is very similar to yours. I was so hyped up for it and it really disappointed. :/

    • poindextrix said

      Yeah, the camps seem to be pretty divided. Some people loved it and others were incredibly disappointed. The best explanation that I can come up with is that while it followed a similar progression and had the same types of characters and plot points, it was such a departure from the other three books. I think Nix is making an interesting statement with it and it’s interesting seeing things earlier on in the history, but it was just so much harder to connect.

Leave a Reply

