Upping my book nerd cred by meeting Caitlin Moran

July 9, 2015

I know that book nerd-dom comes in many varieties, but I’ve always felt that going to book events (assuming they’re available) was a good book nerd behavior. And so it’s embarrassing to admit that even though I’ve lived in Philadelphia for over a year, I haven’t gone to a single book/author event. Until tonight. 

Caitlin Moran, author of How to Be A Woman and How To Build A Girl, as well as comedian, columnist, TV/film writer and all-around awesome human being was at the Free Library of Philadelphia tonight. She was honest and raunchy and absolutely hilarious. It was a fantastic event.

After the talk/reading and Q & A she signed books upstairs. The line moved a little bit slowly, but that was just because she actually spoke to every single person, giving them hugs and taking pictures. When it was my turn I was a little star-struck, but she was just so lovely —thanking me for coming and saying all of these amazing things that I want to cherish forever — that I kind of just felt like I was talking to a friend. A friend who is hilarious and spectacular and makes me feel better about myself and the world.

Caitlin Moran comes across like a hella-awesome lady in her writing, and she really, really is. Her books are amazing, she’s amazing, my night was amazing.

And because I am that kind of book nerd, here are my pictures from the night:

The fabulous Caitlin Moran.

The fabulous Caitlin Moran.

IMG_1215

Reading from How To Build A Girl

IMG_1229

Close-up of Caitlin Moran reading from How To Build A Girl

IMG_1219

Seriously, she’s so nice and enthusiastic.

IMG_1223 - Version 2

We just had a little chat before she signed my book.

IMG_1230

Also, she’s super silly, and it’s fantastic.

IMG_1228 - Version 2

Love her!

IMG_1232

My signed copy. It has such a great memory to go along with an already fantastic book.

Leave a Reply

