Book Juggling

February 4, 2016

If you were to look at my “currently reading” shelf on Goodreads right now, you might raise a skeptical eyebrow. See, the thing is, I am “currently reading” seven books (OK, I’m really actively reading six, but that seventh is there because I’ll get back to it one of these days).

It isn’t particularly uncommon for me to be reading a couple of books simultaneously, but I don’t generally read this many all at once. Every so often though, I go through this weird book juggling phase and I have no clue what triggers it. Normally it’s just a different way for me to read, but right now it’s kind of stressing me out.

It isn’t that the books I’m reading don’t hold my interest (they do when I’m reading them!), but for some reason I’ve recently felt this drive to keep starting new books. Heck, I’ve actually had to stop myself from starting some other new ones even as I struggle to finish the ones I’ve got going right now.

I’ve been making better progress in the last couple of days, so it’s possible I’ll be out of this phase soon, but if not, I might just let myself abandon some for now. After all, I can always go back to them later, right?

Do any of you go through these kinds of book juggling phases? How do they make you feel? Do they stress you out, or do you just go with the flow? How do you jumpstart your reading and get back to “normal”?

Leave a Reply

